Avril Lavigne cracks herself open in an incredible album about her failed relationship

Kevin Hunter

Avril Lavigne releases her best album yet!  The world of female dance artists in popular culture is a touched market that’s for sure.  With Lady Gaga, Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera, it’s very easy to not be able to tell them all apart, especially if you’re not a follower of the genre.

Then you get Avril Lavigne, an artist among the bunch who does stand out.  And with her new album release “Goodbye Lullabye” she does just that tenfold.  She stands out and not with marketing, dancers, lights and sex.  No she does something else, she focuses on the music. This didn’t come without a fight from her record company of course.  They pushed her to make a dance record since that’s where the money is. Avril decided to instead let it sit on a shelf for a year not releasing it at all until they gave in.

Kevin Hunter

Having just recently ended a relationship Avril cracks herself open and raw to reveal a greater more mature album to date.  Every track is better than the last.  This is saying a lot since her weakest track is the bubbly poppy single release, “What the Hell”.  I hoped the rest of the album wouldn’t be that way and luckily it’s not!  You can hear her personal pain when she sings the line, “I cried a little bit, you died a little bit, please say there’s no regret, and say you won’t forget.”

Kevin Hunter

She took a nosedive with her last release four years ago with “The Best Damn Thing”.  An album which I put up there as not one of her best.  I felt she sold out to the teen queen pop machines the music industry has been force feeding us for ten years.  Now she comes back with what I consider to be her best work to date.

Avril has already been overwhelmed by the warm reception Goodbye Lullaby has received.

Kevin Hunter

“The reaction from my friends, people I work with, my family, anyone who’s heard the songs – [they] cried!

“It’s like, ‘Wow.’ When you really go there and have those moments that mean that much and are that real, other people connect with that,” she gushed.

“I’m glad I went for those moments on this album.”

She told Billboard, ‘The biggest challenge and only challenge of this album was my record company.

‘I found myself in a situation on my fourth record with a bunch of people at the label who I didn’t know, and they’re coming in on my project and saying, ‘Here’s what we think you need to do for your record,’ and giving me their vision.

‘And radio’s so rhythmic dance-driven right now, and that’s not where I was going with this record. So I had to fight and say no, but… I ultimately made the record I wanted to.’

Kevin Hunter

 

TO PURCHASE AVRIL LAVIGNE CD’S SIMPLY CLICK ON THE ALBUM COVER:

Kevin Hunter

Kevin Hunter

Kevin Hunter

Kevin Hunter

This entry was posted in Dude Habits, Entertainment, Music, Writer Kevin Hunter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.