“Bridesmaids” is for the men and is the equivalent to “The Hangover” except the leads are women

I like to catch up on all sorts of movies in every genre.  I had heard of Bridesmaids as it was getting some good buzz out there.  I had it on my list of movies to eventually see, but I was in no rush to check it out.  I let that feeling drag on, because I’m not a fan of chick flicks so to speak unless its really good.

I thought, “Oh another movie about a bunch of women pining over some fairy tale with lame cliches.”  Boy was I wrong, this movie is the equivalent to “The Hangover” except its with women.  Thus proving that women can be as equally fraternizing, comedic and intoxicated as the fellas in “The Hangover”.  Kristen Wiig plays the protagonist Annie putting on a fantastic performance for the camera that takes you back to the Lucille Ball slapstick days.

I want to go out on a limb and say that this may be more of a film for guys.  Never mind that it’s all women in the leads of the film.  Don’t let that turn you off dudes, as the humor is downright crude, almost repulsive and crass.  Women who are seeing this hoping for a sweet, romantic love story will be sorely disappointed and maybe even turned off.  This isn’t to stereotype men and women as I’m simply generalizing that the Bridesmaids title with all female leads can suggest to someone that this is another kind of film.  It most definitely is not.  For the women who are with men who will never watch a female film, here’s one that you may be able to convince them on.  They may even enjoy it more than you will.

Kristen Wiig is an actress unafraid to let go and emerge herself into an understated comedic character.   In Bridesmaids she carries the film on her not so fragile shoulders, but before that she absolved in some equally colorful characters in films such as, “Forgetting Sarah Marshall”, “Adventureland” and dramatic work in Drew Barrymore’s directorial debut, “Whip It”.

I highly recommend this and in fact make it a double feature one night with a group of friends and watch, “The Hangover” and “Bridesmaids” in one sitting and get the best of both worlds.

DOUBLE FEATURE

The Hangover and Bridesmaids



This entry was posted in Dude Habits, Kevin Hunter, Kevin Hunter Column, Movies, Writer Kevin Hunter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.